research assignment 4

Robert Gaudette, found through booooooom.com

The stark difference between the black background and the skin immediately grabs my attention. The minimal shadowing across the skin lend the photo depth and detail. I love that when I first looked my mind automatically saw legs entwined together, but very quickly wasn’t sure what each limb was. Capturing the shape of the elbow on the right followed by the hand below it allowed me to see everything for what it really was as my eyes came back up through the photo. Despite being an everyday, easy to recognize subject, the photo revealed itself to me as opposed to being obvious, which seems fitting.

To get the effect in the picture I’m not sure if there was lighting or if a flash was used. Im inclined to think it may have been lighting by looking at the shadows and the lines, but have no real knowledge with which to base this assumption.

Leave a Reply

